2013 Season- A Recap So Far

As I am writing this, the Orioles are standing in 3rd place in the AL East with a 6-6 record. That about sums up the early part of the 2013 season- some great highs, and some pretty bad lows that make for an average start. Chris Davis’ grand slam in the home opener at Camden Yards had me standing up cheering. The Adam Jones’ error in center field had me covering my eyes in disgust. Many fans, including me, are wondering which Orioles team will show up in 2013. The BuckleUp Birds from 2012 that took the MLB by surprise or the basement dwellers from the previous 14 seasons.

The key this season will be the consistent pitching. We now sit at 7th in the American League in lowest ERA with 3.89, which is comparable to last season in which we were 6th. Unfortunately, Boston has the lowest ERA in the AL at 2.69. If the Orioles can keep this ERA consistent throughout 2013, I think we have a good shot. With our division being tough (3 teams in playoff contention in 2012), winning the divisional series’ will be key. We need to pounce on the Yankees now while their key players are on the disabled list.

In 2012, the Orioles were 29-9 in 1-run games and 16-2 in extra inning games. So far in 2013, we are 1-3 in one-run games and have yet to play in extra innings.  We need to push in those extra runs in the close games and get back on track like last season. Obviously the season is early still, so only time will tell! Buckle Up, Birds!

5 responses to “2013 Season- A Recap So Far”

  1. mcover23 says :

    That Yankees series was a let down for sure. Like you said, we needed to take advantage of their injuries and bury them, but we failed to take the series. I’d like to see how the Yanks manage their roster once they have to activate their players off the DL.

  2. jlondon81 says :

    Hello, fellow rookie blogger! Nice to find another baseball fan on here. I’m curious about what you like and don’t like about using WordPress, if you’ve used it before or have a theme you like, or whatever. I’m new myself, and well you’ve already seen my page. Definitely keep it up, you’ll have an audience in no time (or so I’m told, haha).

    Joel
    The Amateur Scorekeeper

    • magicattheyard says :

      Thanks for commenting! I am not very technologically savvy, so I haven’t figured out a lot of the ins and outs of WordPress yet. I definitely like the Stats Tracker (though at this point, there aren’t too many stats to track for me!) I have found posting and designing the page to be pretty simple so far and haven’t run into many problems yet. Then again, I am only on Day 2!

      • jlondon81 says :

        I’m still working on that myself. My blog is mostly for me, so I don’t get too worked up over stats. I started mine Opening Day so I’m about in the same boat as you. I’m discovering new things all the time and slowly getting it to where I like it.

Leave a comment